Home > Japan > Not So Easy Being a Princess

Not So Easy Being a Princess

When I was a kid I was bullied a bit. I was picked-on and called nasty names. I had my moments where I wanted to burn down the school, everyone in it and stand on my little kingdom of ash like that kid in the Pearl Jam video, “Jeremy.” The only things that separated me from the kid in the video were that my parents paid attention to me, and that led me to not being self-destructive and suicidal. I had outlets and ways to deal with such pressures. Like I said, my parents listened to me. But my parents never kept me home from school. They never said, “Wayne, you can stay home because some kid called you nigger.” They usually helped me confront these people and put the fear of God in them. I quickly realized that the best defense was having a set parents who were ready to throw punches with any bully in school. That in turn gave me some confidence, and eventually if someone tried to put me down, I would throw punches. I didn’t always win, but I stood my ground and was ready for whatever.

Why do I share this little memory? Because Princess Aiko seems to be going through this exact episode. But her parents have taken her out of school, and seem to be sheltering her. I’m not royalty, nor do I pretend to understand what those people go through, but hell, you’d think the granddaughter of the Emperor of Japan could go through school without being bullied? And you’d think, at least, the parents of this little girl would throw down, and say, “My daughter is a princess of Japan, and if anyone bullies her, heads will roll.” Trust me, my parents said a lot worse to all sorts of people – other parents, kids, school administrators, you name them. I still remember seeing my vice principal piss his pants when my dad rocked his world in his office…great memory, but I digress.

Okay, so I know it may inappropriate to say that, and maybe it only adds fuel to the fire, but at least let her go back to school, and teach her that bullies should never win. She may get bullied, but god damn-it don’t let them win! Teach that girl how to fight for herself! She may not have to throw punches (hopefully), but teach her that mental toughness is what separates the greats from the losers. Bullies pride themselves on having controlled someone, and thus breaking that person. If you don’t let them break you, they can’t win, and they will know it. If it ever comes to it, you may have to fight. So be it. It isn’t wrong. I don’t advocate physical altercations, especially with 8 year old girls, but like my father always told me, “If you do not listen, you will feel.”

I hope Princess Aiko goes back to school, and tells those bullies, “Listen, you have a choice, stop harassing me, or feel my sumo charge.” Incidentally, I read that she is quite knowledgeable on sumo so maybe she can use it to her advantage.

Good luck Princess Aiko, you have a big supporter in a guy who used to be in your shoes…well, without the whole royal family thing.

Peace

  1. March 14, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    I wish I had had you for a parent Wayne – but being your brother is pretty cool though. Good advice. If I ever have kids I will definitely remember the listen/feel line!
    Hugzzz 😎

  2. March 14, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Hugzzz,

    I have to say, I might have used that line out of context, but the it works in any situation. Princess gotta defend herself. Not like back in the old days when samurai would have heads on a platter. These days, you say something to a kid and they freak out, and everyone is up in arms. Sometimes old school is the best school.

    Peace

  3. Charles
    March 15, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    I never would have thought of comparing you to princess Aiko mate but there you go! I remember when some kids at nova called me names too. henna gaijin, ojisan etc… but me and my mate Saruhashi took all their money and ran off! mhawahawaha

    • March 15, 2010 at 8:53 pm

      Us bullied kids have to stick together…I will take those names over what I was called any day…Hey man, you’re a “Lord,” so you gotta have some empathy for the troubles of royalty…Maybe the Royal Family are planning to steal the school’s money, and move it to the Congo or something…Hey, they got Monkey Bridge so watch out, he might talk and implicate you, they still haven’t recovered the money…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

