Home > Baseball, Japan, Sports > No ‘I’ in Team, or Japan

No ‘I’ in Team, or Japan

I love my home nation, the United States of America. Despite the economic downturn, and being the center of international criticism, I defend the merits of my country.

Mike Blake of Reuters Captures Japan's Greatest Strength - Team Work

Mike Blake of Reuters Captures Japan's Greatest Strength - The Team

That said, I am cheering for Japan to win the World Baseball Classic. Why this flinching patriotism? Am a traitor to the cause? Quite the contrary.

You see, if U.S. baseball wasn’t so tarnished by drugs, dishonesty, downright selfishness I would be singing a much different tune. Japanese baseball isn’t weighted down by these things. The players are focused on the team, and play with a spirit that has long been lost in U.S. baseball. In the States big contracts have enhanced bad behavior, and do little to curb out-of-control egos.

I hope that one day U.S. baseball gets back to the level it once was. In the meantime I will cheer on my second home, and it’s native sons – Nippon Ichibon!!!!

  1. delphinias
    April 2, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Murakami-san, the proper word is “traitor,” as opposed to “trader.”

    Then again, our nihongo is honto ni warui.

  2. April 2, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    Thank you for the proofreading effort. I made the necessary change. Feel free to tackle other articles. Constructive criticism always welcome. Heck, any criticism welcome.

    Peace

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

