Home > Miscellaneous Debris > God Bless Tim Russert

God Bless Tim Russert

I don’t usually believe in superstition, or good luck and bad luck. Not saying I count it out, but I usually don’t give 100% creedence to such things. That said, this past Friday the 13th was an unlucky day. On this Friday, June 13th, 2008 Tim Russert of Sunday morning’s Meet The Press died of a heart attack. He was only 58. He is carried-on by his wife Maureen Orth, their son Luke, and the countless numbers of viewers whose lives he touched every Sunday morning. Every time there was something political that needed objective analysis and thoughtful insight Tim was there to guide us through the turbulent waters. From primaries to general elections to Congressional races, Tim was there. If I missed Meet The Press one week it would be a week unfulfilled. Thankfully, as I live in Japan I was able to download the webcast and watch it at my convenience, so I didn’t have to go without. For me it was, “If it’s Monday, it’s Meet The Press.”

If you want more insight into Tim and all that he did, you can get a glimpse at MSNBC’s website. There’s a way to leave a personal message if you care to. Here is what I wrote:

I still can’t believe it. My deepest prayers are for the Russerts.

I always loved his little extra shout-outs at the end of the broadcast, especially when he praised his son Luke. Everything Boston College.

I live in Japan and have been listening and watching Meet The Press podcasts and webcasts for the past 5 and a half years. For me, “If it’s Monday, it’s Meet The Press.” I rarely missed an airing.

It’s strange, I feel like a close friend, or even family member has been taken from me. I was just staring out the window wondering, “What is life going to be like from now on, without him?” I was not crying, but my heart and mind were thrown into a vertigo-like state of confusion. “What to make of this?”

The medical facts revealed quite a lot. It is sad to say, but time was not on his side. That said he used his time well. No one can say he didn’t pack as much life into his days on this Earth.

Thank you Tim for always keeping us informed no matter where on the planet we were.

Rest In Peace

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

