Home > Miscellaneous Debris > I.R.S. After Blade For Avoiding Taxes Not Killing Vampires

I.R.S. After Blade For Avoiding Taxes Not Killing Vampires

So instead of freezing the accounts of terrorists in the United States, trying to figure how to pay down a ridiculously skyrocketing national debt, figuring how to get money into the education and health systems, and a host of other problems the United States Government is prosecuting vampire killer, Blade. Yes, Wesley Snipes is going to jail for 3 years, and has to pay out US$5 million for apparently avoiding taxes. He didn’t kill anyone. He, according to the CNN story I read, took the advice of his tax people:

“a jury accepted his argument that he was innocently duped by errant tax advisers.”

I find this quite ridiculous. He didn’t pay taxes so he goes to jail for 3 years. How about making him pay the back taxes plus the interest. He probably owes like US$20 million or so. That’s good for about an hour or two, maybe three, in Iraq. Don’t we have more dangerous people to put in prison, like the hundreds of catholic priests who raped and sexually abused children throughout the years. That is a better use of the space than for tax evaders. If we want to spend the money on prosecuting liars and cheats how about spending the tax dollars prosecuting the current President of the United States.

Bush made a decision based on faulty intelligence thus waging war on a sovereign nation. He then captured, prosecuted and executed the leader of that nation via a ridiculous court hearing that was more for show than justice. He continues to wage an unjustified and oppressive war that is plunging the U.S. into despair. This guys needs to go to prison for the rest his life. I’ll give him the last grace of walking his daughter down the aisle to get married, then ship him off to Alcatraz.

Okay, back to Wesley and tax evasion. Some notable quotes from the 35-page prosecution argument:

“‘For nearly a decade, Snipes has engaged in a campaign of criminal tax conduct combining brazen defiance with insidious concealment,’ the prosecutors say.”

I really love this next one:

“‘In the defendant Wesley Snipes, the court is presented with a wealthy, famous and inveterate tax scofflaw. If ever a tax offender was deserving of being held accountable to the maximum extent for his criminal wrongdoing, Snipes is that defendant,'”

I wrote on CNN’s blog comment page (I’ll post that comment when and if it gets approved) that this sounded like an assignment by a high school or college creative writing student. The drama and emotion pour through in great depth. I love it. This is what these people have time to do. Thankfully I’m not paying for this nonsense any longer. Aren’t there more significant problems we could be solving? I think I mentioned just a few. There are so many more.

In full disclosure I should say I have been living in Japan for the past 5 years, and according to U.S. tax law do not have to pay taxes to the U.S. Government. I get paid in yen, and make far less than what is required to have to pay taxes. It would cost more to file and process my return so I don’t even file one. The I.R.S. can come to Japan and find me if they like. Hopefully they will pay for my airfare back to the United States for any court proceedings otherwise we’ll have to do the court proceedings in Japan. After hearing the situation I think the Japanese judges would be like, “Are you serious? We don’t have time for this gaijin nonsense. You Americans are so backwards.”

  1. April 27, 2008 at 3:03 am

    Thanks Mike. Keep the dream alive.

    Peace.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

